The Weigh It Is

Breaking Free November 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Billie @ 1:44 pm

Aragorn: What do you fear, my lady?

Éowyn: “A cage. To stay behind bars until use and old age accept them and all chance of valor has gone beyond recall or desire.

Aragorn: “You are a daughter of kings, a shieldmaiden of Rohan.  I do not think that would be your fate.”

A long time ago, while stumbling around on the weight watchers message boards, I found a website called, “The Eowyn challenge.” Being a fan of LOTR, I clicked on it, and was met with the above quote. Even though I had watched  the movie plenty of times (The Two Towers), this quote had never impacted me the way it did that day. Underneath it, the author of the blog had written,

“For many of us, our weight, health and or self-esteem have felt like cages, and we have decided to break free.”

Wow.

I can’t express how many times my mind has gone down that road– how many times I’ve simply felt that it was just too late to do anything; that I had already wasted the best years of my life being trapped by my self-imposed cage, and that all chance of valor had gone beyond recall or desire. (Why did I want to lose this weight? Did I even want to anymore? Or had I gotten so used to my cage that I was going to simply accept the bars around me?)

No.

That will not be my fate! I was created for more than this, more than simply existing. I was created to move and breathe and LIVE, really live. No more cages!

(for those of you interested in walking to Rivendell, here is the link to the eowyn challenge: http://home.insightbb.com/~eowynchallenge/ )

 

Leave a Reply

