The Weigh It Is

Boston had it right! November 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Billie @ 10:48 am
Tags: ,

My brain is full of lyrics.

I wish that I could somehow turn it into something lucrative; it seems that I have a knack for relating anything, everything to a song lyric. I can’t help it. I try not to annoy others with this tendency (read: compulsion), but I’m sure it must happen. (Happily, my friends are kind, and humor me). And if the person doesn’t know the song? (Which happens often!) I just end up chuckling to myself and looking like a nerd. That’s okay. I like nerds.

ANYWAY, I said all that to say this: 70’s supergroup Boston had a hit in 1978 with a song called, “Don’t look back.”  I don’t know about you, but I find myself looking back a LOT. And not in retrospective  learn-from-your-mistakes kind of way; in a regretful why-did-I-let-it-get-to-this-point?! kind of way. That kind of looking back? Just not profitable. Really. Nothing is less motivating than heaping condemnation on yourself. Cue Boston! Here are the lyrics to their encouraging song:

Don’t look back
A new day is breakin’
It’s been too long since I felt this way
I don’t mind where I get taken
The road is callin’
Today is the day
I can see
It took so long just to realize
I’m much too strong now
to compromise
Now I see what I am is holding me down
I’ll turn it around, oh yes I will

I finally see the dawn arrivin’
I see beyond the road I’m drivin’

It’s a bright horizon and I’m awakin’ now
Oh I see myself in a brand new way
The sun is shinin’
The clouds are breakin’
‘Cause I can’t lose now, there’s no game to play
I can tell
There’s no more time left to criticize
I’ve seen what I could not recognize
everything in my life was leading me on
But I can be strong, oh yes I can
I finally see the dawn arrivin’
I see beyond the road I’m drivin’
Far away and left behind, left behind
Oh the sun is shinin’ *and I wanna go*

 

No more looking back for me. Rock on!
 

Leave a Reply

