The Weigh It Is

More than a catalyst November 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Billie @ 2:54 pm

 

On October 27, I hopped on over to one of my favorite blogs, and was greeted with a post titled, “An Offer You Can’t Refuse.”

http://tinyurl.com/2f9jor3

 

If you don’t have the time to click over and read it for youself, the general idea was this: This guy, Jack, who is brilliant, witty and has a great heart, has an awesome weight loss blog. Being so close to his goal, he wanted to give someone else the chance to be in the spotlight, to lose weight on his blog, to have the support of his wonderful readers. Sounded wonderful to me!! BUT… then I continued to read, and he also wanted MEASUREMENTS and PICTURES. *thud*  Well, I responded in the comments and said,

 

this idea terrifies me, frankly–I can hardly admit my weight to my friends, let alone the entire world…But as I have Anti-Jared like weight to lose, I am seriously considering this–I’m already on a good 3 week run of consistent exercise… O_o

 

 Yep. Terrified me. That pretty much summed it up. I hadn’t, at that point, started my blog, hadn’t come out of hiding to my friends and the world. Still, the idea nagged at me. I thought about it. I prayed about it. I thought and prayed and thought some more. Finally, five days later, this is what I emailed to Jack:

 

Jack,
If it’s not too late, I wanted to let you know I’m interested in being held accountable by the world! I wasn’t kidding when I said I’ve got Anti-jared proportions of weight to lose; I’m currently 411 lbs and have  been up and down before…last great effort at weight loss was a few years ago when I got down to 273 from 331…I was even an aerobics instructor at that time (loved it how people would react when they walked into my class compared to how they reacted AFTER the class!) Thought I had a handle on it; Stopped going to WW meetings, oh, and got pregnant, and that’s when I stopped exercising and stopped paying attention to what was going into my mouth. Four years later, I’ve gained 140 lbs!! *thud* I’m 37, and I homeschool, and I am sick of not being able to do the things with my children and husband that I would like to do. This is my 4th week of getting up at 5 am and heading to the gym–I have worked up to 35 to 40 minutes of cardio, usually divided between the treadmill and eliptical. I have also been pumping iron (RAWR!!), but not this morning, since my dang elbow is killing me (used to be a waitress; oh wait, I’m a mom–I still am!) 😉

 

Later that day, I got a response. The first sentence said this:

 

I’d already chosen four individuals to go into my Witness Reduction Program, and felt like that was probably all I could handle, but your email pretty much hit all the buttons of what I was looking for with this. You really seem ready to make a big change and I think it’d be exciting to be a part of it.

 

Whoo hoo! I am really blessed to have this opportunity, and just so thankful. It’s great to be in league with people who have the same struggles, who are on the path and who have been successful. It inspires me so much to read their experiences and thoughts. To see the before and after pics. I want to have my own set some day–to help people see that it can be done, it is possible, and let them know that they can do it too!! That’s what people like Jack and Tony have done for me. 

 

Today Jack featured me in his blog. Here is the link:

http://jackfit.blogspot.com/2010/11/bodfather-last-but-not-least.html

 

Toward the end of the post, Jack says this:

 

I’d like to take credit for creating the spark that’s slowly turning into a raging inferno inside of Billie, but I think I’m more of a witness than a catalyst.

 

Catalyst: an agent that provokes or speeds significant change or action.

 

Has Jack been a catalyst? You better believe it. And so have all of you who have encouraged me, cheered for me, prayed for me. I have never felt more encouraged in my life. Thanks, everyone, for all the kind words. They really do help me drag my butt out of bed at ridiculous o’clock in the morning. =) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to “More than a catalyst”

  1. Claire Says:

    Hi Billie

    I just wanted to wish you all the best on your journey and am definately cheering you on all the way from “down under”.

    I’m a home schooling Mum too!

    Good luck Billie and know that there are so many people out there wishing nothing but the very, very best for you.

    Claire xxx

  2. Annalisa Says:

    FANTASTIC! I am so excited by you, and totally inspired! I’ve lost my motivation this last two weeks, as I’m going on holidays in one week, but reading this, I feel like I owe it to myself to stop playing the pity-party soundtrack in my head, get over it, and go to the gym anyway. Thank you for this wake-up call.

  3. Aunt Vic Says:

    *sniff, sniff* really inspiring

  4. Leanne Says:

    Hi Billie,

    I wandered over here from Jack’s blog. I want to wish you all the best on your journey. I look forward to following your success along the way. There are a LOT of us on that long & winding road, and we just need to keep moving forward. 🙂

  5. Laurie Says:

    Hi Billie!!!

    Welcome to the Family! It’s time to shake it up for all of us and I plan to follow your journey each and every day. In fact, I think you might have inspired me to get off my butt and get my elliptical put together!

    I am one of the Bodfather’s too, email me any time at kello036 at gmail.com!.

    Talk to you soon and have a great Thanksgiving.
    Laurie

  6. Kathleen Says:

    Hi! I just came across your blog from Jack Sh*t. Wow, I’m so happy you were spotlighted! I added your blog to my list of favorites, and I look forward to being your online neighbor to offer hugs and support. : )

    I walk around the neighborhood several times around each day, and one of my neighbors is about your size. It just makes me sad how her weight isolates her from people since she’s embarrassed about not being able to fit in the aisle like other people do. She seems not to have much hope to change things from the way I see it. I wished I could support her, but she would die of embarrassment. So here I am able to give you a helping hand! : )

    If the early AM gym doesn’t work for you – I take walks after dinner, it helps with digestion and my metabolism too. Plus, I like hiding in the dark LOL.

  7. searchforme Says:

    Billie, just checking out your blog. I am so proud of you, girl! bob

  8. Amanda Says:

    Hi, Billie!

    I wondered this way from Jack’s blog. I’m so excited to see what you can do; you are off to a great start already!

    I was very touched to read your earlier post about the things that people say around and to you. I had a really unpleasant experience last week with a child who used my weight to bully my child and, although we managed to fix the situation for my son, I have to admit that my own feelings were still a little raw. So to see the things that you had to say reminded me of what I already know: fat isn’t who I am, it’s just the state I’m in right now. So thank you for that reminder.

    Good luck, Billie! And congrats on your accomplishments so far!

  9. Marie Uher Says:

    Billie!!! This is VERY AWESOME NEWS!!! I was bummed when you said he said he had it filled up UNTIL I read that he wanted you to be a part too!! I have a smile on my face that WON’T go away!! I’m SO happy for you to be able to get more encouragement, support, accountability, etc from a LOT of people! I’m also SO very thankful for your beautiful heart through all of this. I LOVE that you are facing a fear and telling that fear where to go haha! It is VERY inspiring to me!! I am praying for you and can’t wait to see you lose lose and lose more weight to get to your goal of healthy!!! I’m am very happy and excited to be able to be a part of your journey that the Lord has brought to you! Keep going strong sister and remember take it DAY BY DAY!! ❤ you Billie!! ❤

  10. Sarah Says:

    Hiya! I came across your blog from Jack’s site, and I don’t know why specifically, but I really feel inspired by you. I know you’ve got a long way to go, but you’ve got such a great sense of humour!! And, as someone who was homeschooled, I know just how much strength, courage and determination you must have. I believe you’re gonna make it, and I can’t wait to see you melt away.
    Hugs!


Leave a Reply

