The Weigh It Is

Week 9 December 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Billie @ 12:16 pm

The roads this morning were treacherous. Really.  Snow-covered, not yet plowed.  The person in front of me was driving 30 mph. I didn’t mind; I wasn’t planning on going much faster than that, anyway!  The trip that would have normally taken 20-25 min. or so ended up taking 35 or 40.  I did not feel like going this morning. When I told my husband that, he replied, “You’ll be glad you went once you get there.”  He was right, of course.

This is what my workout looked like this morning:

20 minutes, treadmill. 2.8 mph

21 minutes, elliptical

Strength training: Shoulder circuit: 4 different types of shoulder exercises, followed by 4 minutes of cardio;  shoulder sets, 5 minutes elliptical; shoulder sets, 5 minutes cardio.

Totals: 25 min. treadmill; 30 elliptical.

 

This is the beginning of my ninth week. I feel like it’s been forever. I must remind myself that this HAS to be my lifestyle; not just a temporary thing until I get to my goal weight. I know from the testimony of others that that’s when the hard work begins–Maintenance! For me, that is afar off.  Lately I’ve been getting frustrated with how far I know I have to go–I’ve been working hard and I want to see more results NOW!  We’re such impatient creatures.  This scripture keeps popping into my mind, and I feel like I should write it out and tape it to the treadmill in the morning:

“Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us and let us run with patience the race that is set before us, Looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith…”

Beset: harass somebody or something: to harass or trouble somebody or something continually ; surround somebody or something: to attack somebody or something from all sides.

What besets me?

Discouraging thoughts!

“This is going to take FOREVER. What’s the use? You lose 100 lbs, you’ll still be fat. You shouldn’t be working so hard at your size. You’re probably going to hurt yourself.” 

 I have to be vigilant–recognize these thoughts as lies, replace them with truth, and keep pressing on. I need to “run with patience the race set before me.” Because this isn’t a sprint. It’s a marathon. I know that I will make it, by the grace of God. 

One thing I want to add: chances are, not all my readers share my faith, and that’s okay; the principle is still the same. Run with patience the race! Don’t allow those types of thoughts to beset you. Keep moving forward!

              

 

9 Responses to “Week 9”

  1. dawn Says:

    Every lb counts, just start lifting that many potatoes for what you’ve lost so far and you will realize just how much better you’ve made your body feel. You are doing really great! I feel so proud of you and I just started reading today *smile*.

  2. Leah Says:

    Your post is so timely. I have been feeling overwhelmed by my negativity lately. It is possible, it can be done. You’re right that patience is the key!!!

  3. outdoor.mom Says:

    good job! great you have a supportive husband too 🙂

  4. Janie Says:

    Billie, I’ve been reading your blog now and then and it’s great to see what you are doing! I have fallen behind with my weight loss journey. My health problem with my legs has gotten worse and I’m now getting monthly 5 hour IV treatments. Because of this my mind wasn’t 100% on my weight loss so I decided to put it on the back burner for a while. I’m hoping with these treatments I’ll be able to start walking every day or atleast five days a week, that is once the weather gets better. But until then I do plan on “trying” to get back on track with making better food choices. I haven’t gained everything back that I lost, thank God but I have to take control now or soon the pounds will start creeping back on!!! Good luck with your journey.

  5. Amy Says:

    I just watned to say that this is the first time I’ve checked out your blog. Billie, I remember you in high school, and was always amazed at your many talents. Your beautiful voice stands out foremost in my mind when I think of you, along with your amazing smile. You were then, and are now an inspirational person. Your blog is inspirational to others, and I only hope that these responses inspire you to keep going in your journey.

  6. Amanda Says:

    This is a great post for me right now. I’ve done pretty well so far but my brain has recently started to try to get ahead of me on some things. You are so right; it’s important to remember that this is not something that we’re doing “until”. This is just how we’re doing things now.

    Good job on the exercise!

  7. Roxie Says:

    Good job on the workout – and way to be patient on the dangerous roads!

    ANTS (automatic negative talk) are just the worst. You are doing good by replacing/reframing things in a more positive way. A good deal of this stuff is mental. Good job!

  8. Marj Says:

    You are the person who will see the least results in your progress. I on the other hand will see the most with your progress, and of course isn’t my opinion the only one that counts. Ha Ha I thought you might enjoy that.
    You deserve this. You go girl!!!!!!

  9. Charlie Says:

    They are lies, all those thoughts that rise up against you. The enemy loves nothing more than for us to feel defeat. We don’t win battles on the scale (although our winning proof shows up there) but in our minds. Even after 2 years (almost 3! GULP) I am STILL waging this war daily. Our eyes have to be fixed on the Cross. Everything else in this world clamors for our attention, when God only wants us to see Him. His plan. His purpose for our lives. (And His plan doesn’t include us sitting on our kiesters being content, that’s for sure!)
    Billie, hang in there. I’m right beside you on this. We can do it, linked up and prayed up.
    Excellent post. 🙂


Leave a Reply

