The Weigh It Is

Christmas cookies and other misadventures December 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Billie @ 12:26 pm
Snowballs cookies

CHRISTMAS COOKIES!!

My mother-in-law makes some really incredible Christmas cookies. Little snowballs coated with powdered sugar. Wonderfully flaky sandwich butter cookies with icing between the layers.  I had more than a few, for sure!

With the exception of my sister-in-law’s delicious green bean casserole, I was the one making Christmas dinner. It can be summarized in one word–butter. There was butter in the stuffing (a stick, but I used two loaves of  bread), butter in the mashed potatoes, of course (probably 3/4 stick), and butter on the turkey–I rub butter under the skin and on the skin before I throw the spices on.  Everything was delicious–but I can’t in good conscience say it was low-calorie! Happily, I wasn’t invited to any Christmas parties, so I didn’t have to navigate tons of delectable foods. (Wait…that’s not so happy! ha ha!!) Although I had more than I should, I wouldn’t qualify how I ate as bingeing. I didn’t go quite as crazy as I would have before, and that’s a good thing! Still, I’m done with goodies for this year. 😉

The other day I read this (and I wish I could remember where, so I could give them props)

It’s not what you eat between Christmas and New Year’s, it’s what you eat between New Year’s and Christmas that matters!!


That’s a great reminder!! By all means, I’m not giving myself or anyone else license to eat with wild abandon. I’m simply saying–if you ate a bit more than you should’ve,  just MOVE ON.  A few parties, one week–it’s not going to ruin you–as long you don’t beat yourself up over it and just toss all your healthy habits in the trash! So, climb back on that wagon, people!

With all the festivities, I was SO happy to get back to the gym on Monday. Oh, elliptical, how I’d missed you!! I’ve been staying up later than usual since my husband has been off work over Christmas, and I stayed up until 1:30 am on Tuesday morning. That isn’t such a wise thing to do when you’re planning on getting up at 5 and going to the gym by 6:30.  My husband suggested I sleep in; after all, we were going into town later, and we could all go together, and I could workout while he and my son were doing other things. I reluctantly agreed, but stated we needed to leave by 9:30 for me to be able to get to the gym before noon (my gym membership is valid from 6 am-12). WELL, I slept in until 10!!  I was SO.VERY. ANNOYED. For me, there’s a big difference when I exercise–I like to get up early and go. I like to feel like I’ve accomplished something significant. Because as the day wears on, the chances of me exercising become slimmer. I look around, and see too many other things that need to be done, Life just comes in…you know what I mean.  I called my gym to see if perhaps I would be permitted to come in a little later. The conversation went like this:

Me: “Hi, this is Billie. I was wondering if I could still come in and exercise, since I didn’t get to this morning. I usually come in around 6:30.”

Owner: “Oh, I apologize for that! Our employee wasn’t able to make it this morning. She called me at 6:30 saying she was sick. I’m sorry that she wasn’t there to let you in. I hope you didn’t wait too long.”

Me: “Um…No, I actually stayed in bed this morning because I didn’t get much sleep, so I didn’t show up at my regular time. I was wondering if I could come work out, even though it will be past noon, and I purchased a morning membership?”

He was very accommodating, and said that would be fine. While I am not happy that the worker was ill, I am THRILLED that I relented to my husband’s suggestion of staying in bed! I would’ve been so ticked to go in, and not be able to GET in, especially since I drive about 25 minutes to get there.  I got extra sleep AND was able to work out. Ha HA!  I was so very happy to be able to exercise!!

Monday and Tuesday’s workouts were both really excellent. I mean, I love it when sweat drips off my bangs. I did both cardio and strength training. It felt great!! This morning, I don’t know what the problem was, exactly. I started out on the treadmill, intending to do 25 minutes, but only ended up doing 15. (My left shin was bothering me, probably because I’ve started to walk faster than I did before.) I switched to the elliptical, with the intent of doing 13 minutes and then doing the circuit thing with ab work.  Well, I hate ab work. After one set, I headed back to the elliptical for another 12 minutes, so I could at least say I did my normal 25.  Instead, I did TWO more minutes, and I was done. I don’t know why, really. Total cardio today, 30 measly minutes. I plan on doing a 2 mile brisk video later, so at least I can feel like I got in my normal amount of work. And, in the grand scheme of things, 30 measly minutes is still better than nothing! =)

AND, if you’re still reading at this point, I wanted to mention that Jack featured me on his blog again.  I thought what he wrote was really sweet, and I am blessed that he is being motivated by me as well.

http://jackfit.blogspot.com/2010/12/bodfather-ending-year-with-bang.html

That’s all for today. Nothing too terribly deep (I’ve got one of those in the works). Hope you are all doing well!  Thanks for checking in with me, and have a wonderful New Year!

 

One Response to “Christmas cookies and other misadventures”

  1. outdoor.mom Says:

    well i’m glad you still went to the gym 🙂 let me give you this great advice : ANY TIME your husband suggests you stay in bed – take him up on it 😉 New Years Day is coming on fast!!


Leave a Reply

